Crafty Meggy

enjoying life while crafting and organizing

Pinterest Pick Friday ~ General Conference Idea for Kids

on April 4, 2013

pinterestpickbutton2

I’m Mormon. If you didn’t know that, well, now you do:) If you don’t know what General Conference is, basically, every 6 months (April and October) the leaders of the church hold a conference in Salt Lake City and broadcast it throughout the world. It’s Saturday and Sunday, 4 hours each day broken up into 4 meetings.

_MG_9541pinnable

I have a hard time with General Conference weekend… not because I take my kids to church and sit through all those hours, but because we stay at home and watch it on the internet (yeah, we’re cheap, we don’t have cable).

And by “we” I mean me. I usually watch all by myself. The boys will meander over to sit by me for a few minutes, but quickly get bored and go back to playing or whatever else. I’ve never been really good about MAKING them sit and watch with me. It’s hard to do! Do I want to fight them the whole time about sitting quietly and listening or do I want to enjoy it myself?!

I have always picked the latter, but last year I read a friends blog and she had this good idea on how to make the kids listen. I pinned it on pinterest and told myself to do it the next time General Conference came around and here we are….

SO, this is what I came up with:

_MG_9540

I bought these cute baskets on clearance at Walmart after Easter. I picked out candy my kids like and on Saturday and Sunday I will empty the candy into the baskets.

_MG_9541

If the boys sit and listen with me they will take a piece of candy everytime they hear the word attached to the basket.

_MG_9543

Yep, I used a word bubble file I got off of the Silhouette online store. I just deleted the heart in the one on the top right and then typed in the words I wanted the Silhouette to cut out.

_MG_9544

Please excuse the blurred vision on the TV. My 2 year old was watching Dora and I had to do this quick or else he would’ve wanted to eat all the candy!

_MG_9545

What do you do with your kids to help them listen and learn from General Conference? I would love to hear your suggestions!

Well, thanks for stopping by! I hope you have a wonderful weekend!


3 responses to “Pinterest Pick Friday ~ General Conference Idea for Kids

  1. Kar says:

    Awesome idea, Megs!! I have Silhouette Envy.

  2. Rachelle says:

    What a great idea! I love this… I might wait til October conference because my kids already have way too much candy from easter… but this seems really fun! I’m going to show it to Luis!

    • meganblethen says:

      Yeah my kids have too much candy from Easter too. Maybe you could just use their Easter candy! 😀

I LOVE to hear from you!