Crafty Meggy

enjoying life while crafting and organizing

Pinterest Pick Friday ~ Tissue Paper Mason Jar for the 4th

on June 21, 2013

pinterestpickbutton2

I have another fun 4th of July craft for you today! I hope you like it! :)

_MG_4279pinnable

I got the idea for doing this simple craft on pinterest, you can view it here. The pin led to a dead end so I decided to wing it myself. It didn’t look or sound that hard to do! Are you ready for the tut? :)

First, you need to gather your materials:

* Red, White and Blue tissue paper

* Mod Podge

* Mason Jar

* Glue sponge brush

masonjar2

I thought it would be a good idea to put mod podge on a little bit of the tissue paper and then stick it in the bottom of that jar. Not such a good idea. I couldn’t move it around very well and ended up ripping some of the paper in little/biggish areas.

masonjar3

It took a while for me to get that bottom layer glued down. I kept pulling on the paper too much and then not putting enough glue or putting too much glue… it wasn’t going too well.

masonjar4

There were a few other areas I had ripped so I added some more tissue paper to cover it up.

masonjar5

And Voila! It was pretty easy to fix! :)

_MG_3910

(For some reason I didn’t take a picture of the next step, adding the white layer. Sorry! It’s hard to take tutorial pictures with gluey fingers and a HEAVY camera! LOL) So this is what it looked like after I glued the next 2 layers of tissue paper on. I did those layers differently and they worked out so MUCH better!

_MG_3924

Instead of only gluing a part of the tissue paper and then inserting it into the jar, I put the glue on the jar and then put the tissue paper down. This was so easy and then once I had the tissue paper all glued too the jar I put a layer of mod podge on top of it to make sure it would stay.

  masonjar8

I was very liberal with my glue!! You can see where I brushed it at the bottom to keep the red tissue sticking.

masonjar11

And here it is displayed so beautifully on my holiday display cabinet! :)

masonjar10

My toddler LOVED it and kept wanting to touch it and play with it. I have found him walking around with it a few times in the last week. And now that I have made the flag from yesterdays post to go inside it, he LOVES that flag!! Haha.

flag

What do you think with both projects complete and blogged about? I love that I actually got some crafting done for this fun holiday!! Now, I have a HUGE list of sewing projects to get going on. I really should start another sewing challenge. I really think that helped me out a lot!!

Thanks for stopping by! I hope you have a wonderful weekend! Come back on Monday to find out how we did with our new chore board! It’s been an interesting week! :)

2 responses to “Pinterest Pick Friday ~ Tissue Paper Mason Jar for the 4th

  1. Amy Mayen says:

    It’s very cute!! I need to make piles of FOJ decorations but I haven’t gotten the motivation…thanks for the DIY inspiration! I can’t wait to see your sewing projects:)

I LOVE to hear from you!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 251 other followers

