Crafty Meggy

enjoying life while crafting and organizing

Scrapbook Saturday- Shadows

on October 14, 2011

Today we’re going to talk about shadows. I’ve been digital scrapbooking since October 2008. My first layout was so bad I deleted it! Seriously!! My next few layouts weren’t so bad. One of my favorites is this one of Jonas:

Sorry the picture is so crappy. I didn’t have it on my computer so I took it with my phone and had to email it to myself really small, but you get the idea, right? This was I think my second or third layout. I thought it was pretty good at the time. I still do think it’s good. Except for one thing… can you guess?

There are NO SHADOWS!!!  No shadows equals BLAH:P It just kills me every time I look at the layout that I have already printed without shadows! I have it fixed on a saved version somewhere, but I can’t fix it on paper unless I print it again. I might just do that since it bothers me so much. LOL

Anyway, I know you can’t see the difference with this layout so I have a layout that I can show you the difference on. This one is really simple:

This is the layout without shadows.

This is the layout with shadows. It makes a big difference doesn’t it?

I’ve always had a hard time with shadows. Sometimes I feel like I get them to look great and most of the time I’m not sure what to think about them. So I just kind of go with what I think looks good and that makes me happy.

How do you make shadows? Well, I can tell you from a PS5 point of view:

Double click on the layer you want to put a shadow on. We’ll do the layer with the PAPA! alpha on it.

When you do that the layer Styles box will pop up. You want to go to the top left of the box and double click on ‘drop shadows’.

Doing that will bring you to this area. You can play around with all the settings until your shadow looks the way you want it to. I don’t usually do anything with the ‘Quality’, just the structure. I play with the last 2 sliders on the bottom and the opacity. I occasionally change the Blend Mode and the Distance of the shadow and the angle. It depends on what look I’m going for. I try to keep my shadows the same though. You can buy shadows from digital scrapbooking designers. They have files they’ve already created so you don’t have to do it. I’ve never done that before. I prefer to make my own.
I hope this is a little bit helpful to you! If you have any questions leave me a comment or email me! I’d love to help you out! I’m working on a Halloween layout to show you for next week:) I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

One response to “Scrapbook Saturday- Shadows

  1. Nancy says:

    This is a great tutorial–I still scrapbook in the classic sense!
    thanks for linking up–and I love the put!
    Pinning!

I LOVE to hear from you!

