Crafty Meggy

enjoying life while crafting and organizing

Whatever Wednesday ~ Shadowbox Jewelry Organizer

on December 28, 2011

Last week when I posted my Fashion Friday post I talked about how adding jewelry is so easy and fun. I’ve been adding more jewelry to my collection and I have quickly run out of room to store it in my small little necklace box:

This little necklace box was over flowing with all my jewelry. I don’t have very much, but I couldn’t close it all the way. I have been wanting to make a special jewelry holder myself. I found a lot of ideas on craft blogs and pinterest, but I fell in love with one from a craft blog, I think. I don’t remember where I got the idea so I’m sorry I can’t give the person full credit for it!

I bought a shadow box at Micheal’s when the frames were 50% off. I took out the glass and I’m saving it for a future project I haven’t decided on yet. LOL I then started looking for fabric to cover the board of the frame with. I had some spare felt lying around so I thought I’d use that, but my husband told me how silly it looked with 3 different scraps of it so I scratched that idea. I searched every craft and fabric store in town. No one had ANYTHING that would work at a good price!! Fabric is EXPENSIVE in Idaho Falls!!:P I finally found a fabric that would match the colors in our bathroom that I really loved. It had this pretty flower design on it, BUT it was $8.95 a yard!!!!!! Who pays that price for one yard??!! That’s crazy!!

Well, over Thanksgiving weekend I was telling Mark’s mom about how I’ve been looking everywhere for red fabric that would work in our bathroom. She has a nice selection of scraps and she let me look through them for something that might work. I found the perfect red color and it was big enough. In fact there would be a bunch left over. She said I could take it all!!:) Woohoo!

So I came home and the next week I put it all together. I am so excited about it and I LOVE it!! It matches the room perfectly and I am so happy with the results. I didn’t take pictures of the process because I really just wanted to get it done and hung up. I had been waiting for a LONG time for this project to be done!

Here are the pictures:

Yay!! How do you think it looks? It’s so easy to find what I want and grab it real quick.

Basically all I did for this project was mod podge the back of the fabric to the board. I spread a little mod podge on the front of the fabric and then folded the sides over the back and mod podged them down. Then I got out my hot glue gun and glued on the little mini clothes pins I had bought at Micheal’s. Beforehand I painted them a light brown color. I don’t know if you can tell.

When I get more jewelry I’ll add more clothes pins as needed. I have some Kohl’s cash to use up so I might go shopping later tonight!!:)

Now I use the necklace box to store my earrings and some bracelets. I’m not sure what to do with them so this works for now. I’ve seen people use frames and wire for earrings, which I like so maybe I’ll do something like that. I guess you’ll have to wait it out though:)

I’m linking up to these parties:

Delightful Order

Tip Junkie

Gluesticks

Not Just a House Wife

Mom on Time Out

Petals to Picots

Next 2 Nothing Crafts

I Heart Naptime

Serenity Now

Family Ever After

Meg and Mums

Polly Wants a Crafter

A Stroll Thru Life

Tales of a Trophy Wife

Chatty Chics

LinkyCandy

Between Naps on the Porch

8 responses to “Whatever Wednesday ~ Shadowbox Jewelry Organizer

  1. Alyssa says:

    Very nice, I’ve not seen this idea before!

  2. I love your blog, and your ideas! Super cute! I saw your blog on Tip Junkie! I am having a linky party too, and would love if you would join! Here is this link http://www.thesouthernproductqueen.com/2011/12/27/the-linky-party-1227-1231/ Thanks for sharing! Happy New Years!

  3. Kara says:

    This is such a great idea! Thanks for linking it up to my party. Don’t forget to stop back on Fridays to link up your latest and greatest 🙂 Happy New Year!!

  4. It turned out beautifully! Great job! Thank you so much for sharing at Taking A Timeout Thursday. Hope to see you again this week!

  5. I’ve been looking for a way to hang my necklaces without taking up counter space! Brilliant! Cath from Home is Where my Heart is…….http://cathhasablog.blogspot.com/

  6. Deanna says:

    I love that pop of red! It makes almost a piece of art with your jewelry hanging on it.
    I had recently done similar, but didn’t have the wall space, so I used the small size of those hooks that have adhesive and you can remove them. (What are those called?) Anyway, I mounted several across the inside of my wood medicine cabinet. But then the necklaces would hit the door when opened or closed, so I mounted a fabric covered mat board down lower to protect the mirror back. Just another idea.
    Deanna

  7. allison says:

    I really need to make me a jewelry organizer, this is a great idea

  8. Love it! Love the color and the location! How convenient! Thanks for showing off!
    Melody
    ChattyChics.com

I LOVE to hear from you!

