Crafty Meggy

enjoying life while crafting and organizing

The 2012 Organization Challenge!

on January 2, 2012

Welcome to the New YEAR!!! How was your celebration? Ours was pretty lax. We don’t have family around and our kids are still young so we put them to bed at the normal time of 8:00 and Mark and I watched a movie and went to bed a little after midnight.

Now that we’re in the new year I want to start fresh. I want to clean my proverbial slate. I’m going to be better; about everything. I’m going to be a better housewife, a better mother, a better crafter, just all around better.

SO that’s it. I’m going to do it. I’m going to organize my house. Yes, all of it. The whole dang thing. We’ve lived here for 2 and a half years, it’ll be 3 at the end of May. I never really organized it when we first moved in and we’ve been slowly rearranging things the way we like them and they look a little better than when we first moved in. Not totally great though so I am challenging myself to get all the way organized!! I can do it. I know I can! It’s just the daunting task of organizing the whole house AND keeping it organized that worries me.

But, I will do it!! I’ve already started this with getting my craft area organized. I’m going to continue with my craft area. There are tons of things that still need to be done with it. All the scrapbook papers and school papers and bills and photos. *SIGH* I can do this! Deep breaths!

So, I am going to make this journey a challenge on my blog. I hope this will motivate me to get it done. I have started out making a list of everything I want to get organized around the house. I have also written down my daily schedule by the hour to help me stay on track and not waste my time. I am a big time waster. I get side tracked VERY easily! It’s one of my faults, but I am using this new year to work on that.

I have found a few blogs that are doing this or have done this. They have great ideas and make the process seem much easier! I’m an Organization Junkie did a 52 Weeks of Organization series in 2011. Brighton Park is doing a series called Get Organized in 2012. I’m excited to start this journey!

First off, I have started a list of things I need to organize. I’m sure it will grow even more as I realize how unorganized my house it! I printed off the ’52 weeks of Organizing’ list that Laura from Organization Junkie.

Ask yourself what are problem areas in your house or your life. Mine is paper. I hate paper!! It just piles up and I am not good at keeping it organized.

See that box to the far right of the picture; the brown one under the one that has the woman posing on the side? Well, that brown box has tons of paper and crap I haven’t sorted through yet. A lot of it is probably a year old. I have another diaper box in the Laundry room filled with papers I haven’t gone through yet. Papers are my enemy! Oh, and plastic bags!! I have a couple shelves overflowing with them in the kitchen and you can see them sticking out of the off white basket in the picture above. I hate throwing them away so I collect them. And we use them a lot, just not as fast as we get more of them! I gather them together every once in a while and take them to Walmart to be recycled, but they often sit in my van or by the front door for DAYS before I finally remember to bring them into the store with me! *SIGH* Who else has this problem?

So paper and bags are my problem areas. Also, flat surfaces and not putting things away where they go right away. If I would just sort through the mail and school papers right when I get them in my hands I think most of our paper problems would be solved!! But like I said before I am easily distracted and who like looking through the mail when all you get is bills! UGH!

Cleaning the house is a problem for me too. I just hate doing it so I don’t do it until it gets really bad. I am going to change that because I don’t like having a dirty house all the time! We also have a big collection of books that could probably be purged. I have a ton of scrapbooks that need a new area other than the top of the desk that my kids could be using for their homework desk.

Yeah, so I’ve got my work cut out for me. I’m confident that I can do this. To break it down:

What I need to work on:

Paper Clutter

A place for everything

Put it away immediately

Purge things we haven’t used/read in the last year or more

Sticking to a schedule

Clean in the morning, run errands after lunch

Every Sunday make a plan for the week

Stay on task!! Finish one thing before starting another

***

I made a Homemaking Binder about 3 months ago, maybe less. I’ve been wanting to do a post on it because I LOVE this idea and it has helped me out a lot, but it has gotten so big that I rarely pull it out anymore and so that is another reason I want to do this challenge. I want to perfect my Homemaking binder idea and make it more workable for me and my family. Here are some examples of what I use to plan my weekly and daily schedules. I often ignore them, but like I said, I’m still perfecting this process.

I got both of these lists from Money Saving Mom. She even has a VLOG of how she has her binder set up. I really like how she set them up as an editable pdf file so I could write it all up on the computer and print it out.

And this is what I want the first half of my day to look like:

I’m being very optimistic that I won’t get sidetracked by the internet (Pinterest is so darn amazing! I can get lost on there so easily!!) or the TV or whatever else I would rather be doing… So today is the first day of my challenge. Start out strong by making a list, a plan of what you want to organize. Are you a big time waster like me? Give yourself a time limit to how much you surf the interenet or watch TV. Set a timer and stick to that time! Seriously!! It totally will help!

I will check back in with you throughout this first week just to let you know how I’m doing with it all and to keep me motivated. I think once I get used to this challenge I’ll make this post once a week, but for now you’ll see me every day, so get used to it!:) hehe

If you have any organization ideas for me specifically or in general please email me at jobrycreationsatgmaildotcom. I’ll post anything that I love and I love everything:) so please don’t hesitate to share!

I hope you had a wonderful New Years Day and that your year only gets better! See you tomorrow!

I’m linking to these blogs: Raising Home Makers, Polkadots on Parade, I Heart Naptime, Tales of a Trophy Wife, Meg and Mums

Let’s Get Organized 2012 Posts:

Day #2

Day #3

Day #4

Day #5 ~ no post, don’t worry, you weren’t going crazy

Day #6

Day #7 ~ take a break!! šŸ™‚ Enjoy the weekend!

Week #2

Day #13

Week #3

Week #4

Week #5

My 2012 To-Do List

Week #6

Week #7

Week #8

 

16 responses to “The 2012 Organization Challenge!

  1. Kaylee says:

    I love all of this and I’m so excited to do the same thing!!!

  2. Thank you so much for joining my linky party! This post rocks!

  3. […] to try extra hard this year! I have started a challenge here for the whole year. It’s called Let’s Get Organized and I’m going to be doing something new every week. I’ll be blogging about it as I go […]

  4. I have just started organizing my closet…I also have a box of “paper and crap”…I thought I was the only one! Thanks for the great post! Cath @ Home is Where my Heart is…http://cathhasablog.blogspot.com/

  5. tara says:

    I get so much more done when I have a to-do list. Thanks for linking up. Tara@ Tales of a Trophy Wife

  6. […] 2012 Let’s Get Organized Challenge (the first post) Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_bg", "dcf5f8"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_border", "caedf1"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_text", "555555"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_link", "55bac6"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_url", "55bac6"); GA_googleAddAttr("LangId", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "entertainment"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "books"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "music"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "crafts"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "design"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "organization"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "silhouette"); GA_googleFillSlot("wpcom_sharethrough"); Share this:FacebookMoreTumblrLinkedInEmailRedditDiggTwitterPrintStumbleUponLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  7. […] 2012 Let’s Get Organized Challenge (the first post) […]

  8. […] and crafting for the crazy life I wouldn't give up on. « The 2012 Organization Challenge! Organize Day Three! » Jan […]

  9. […] 2012 Let’s Get Organized Challenge (the first post) Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_bg", "dcf5f8"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_border", "caedf1"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_text", "555555"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_link", "55bac6"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_url", "55bac6"); GA_googleAddAttr("LangId", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "health"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "cleaning"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "housework"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "life"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "organization"); GA_googleFillSlot("wpcom_sharethrough"); Share this:FacebookMoreTumblrLinkedInEmailRedditDiggTwitterPrintStumbleUponLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  10. […] 2012 Let’s Get Organized Challenge (the first post) Share this:FacebookMoreTumblrLinkedInEmailRedditDiggTwitterPrintStumbleUponLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  11. […] 2012 Let’s Get Organized Challenge (the first post) Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_bg", "dcf5f8"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_border", "caedf1"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_text", "555555"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_link", "55bac6"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_url", "55bac6"); GA_googleAddAttr("LangId", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "vacation"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "education"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "food"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "cleaning"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "housework"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "life"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "organization"); GA_googleFillSlot("wpcom_sharethrough"); Share this:FacebookMoreTumblrLinkedInEmailRedditDiggTwitterPrintStumbleUponLike this:LikeOne blogger likes this post. […]

  12. […] 2012 Let’s Get Organized Challenge (the first post) Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_bg", "dcf5f8"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_border", "caedf1"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_text", "555555"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_link", "55bac6"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_url", "55bac6"); GA_googleAddAttr("LangId", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "education"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "books"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "entertainment"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "cleaning"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "crafts"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "etsy"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "food-storage"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "giveaways"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "housework"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "life"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "organization"); GA_googleFillSlot("wpcom_sharethrough"); Share this:FacebookMoreTumblrLinkedInEmailRedditDiggTwitterPrintStumbleUponLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  13. AWESOME!!! You sound exactly like me!!! I’ve found my doppelganger, lol. I love this post because I feel the same way about my house. But right now I’m so involved in trying to get my blog and Etsy store off the ground, I barely have time to do the laundry. I’ll be looking here, and around the blogoshpere about easy ways to organize. Thanks for the post!!

  14. […] 2012 Let’s Get Organized Challenge (the first post) Share this:FacebookMoreTumblrLinkedInEmailRedditDiggTwitterPrintStumbleUponLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  15. […] 2012 Let’s Get Organized Challenge (the first post) Share this:FacebookMoreTumblrLinkedInEmailRedditDiggTwitterPrintStumbleUponLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  16. […] #2 The 2012 Organization Challenge […]

I LOVE to hear from you!

