Crafty Meggy

enjoying life while crafting and organizing

Did you wonder where I went?

on March 11, 2012

Well, I am on “vacation”. I say vacation with quotes because I’m visiting my mom and stepdad and my sister and her family, who are all under one roof, but it’s just me and the kids so sometimes I don’t really feel like I’m taking a vacay! But Mom, Dave and everyone else have been huge helps so that’s great. My sister has 2 boys and I have 3 so it’s fun to see them interact with each other. They’ve never met so this has been really fun for them! It’s been nice to see my sister and brother-in-law after about 6 years of not seeing them!

We got here late Wednesday night and we were all so tired from our day of travel that we crashed hard. Unfortunately, my boys don’t know how to sleep in so they were wide awake and bushy tailed at 6 am!! 😛 I tried to get them to go back to bed, but to no avail. I finally had to get up to put Jonas on the potty so I was up with only 5 hours of ok sleep (the baby woke up in the night and I moved him to my bed so he would fall asleep).

Anyway, so I’ve just been having fun and lazing around. I’m enjoying the time with my sister and hanging out with mom. She’s really big into quilting. She is such a good seamstress. I think she should open up an etsy shop!! She could make so much money on her quilts!! She made us one for Christmas and I LOVE it!! It is a family favorite and has a permanent spot on the couch to keep us warm.

She wants me to make a quilt while I’m here, which I wasn’t really into the idea at first, but as I looked through her idea books and magazines I decided that I want to make one. I picked one out and I’ve looked through my mom’s huge stash of fabrics for the perfect patterns. I’m excited about doing it, but before I begin I’m going to finish up my sewing project that I gave you the sneak peak of the other day. Yes, I brought it with me so my mom can help me figure it out. Since I don’t have a pattern and I’m a total sewing novice I didn’t want to do it on my own. My mom is a pro at this!:) So, she helped me start it Saturday night and we’re going to work on it more throughout this week. I’m excited!! I can’t wait to finish it!!

I also saw this really cute pattern for a baby bib in one of the magazines so I’m going to make that and add it to my etsy shop. I only have a week to get most of this done with her help because she’ll be gone for four days next week, sadly enough, but they’re moving soon and my step dad has to go start his new job before we leave. She’s going out to help him look for a house. My sister can help me work on my quilt during that time so I think I’ll do that. I also want to sew a bunch of fabric flowers to sell on etsy also. I need to make a list of what takes priority.

That’s my goal for this week. Figure out what I want to accomplish and when. I also want to help my mom organize her sewing area. It’s not very organized so I think that will be something fun for me to do while I’m here:) I just can’t stop organizing. Isn’t that so great? I can’t believe it. From the second I got here I’m seeing all these things I can organize and help my mom out with. And I’m excited about it! That’s the best part!:)

So, I might be back this week with and update on how my goals are going, I might not. We’re having a lot of fun so I’m sure I’ll stay busy. I’ll keep you updated on my sewing project though!

I hope you have a good week! Let me know what you’re working on and organizing!

One response to “Did you wonder where I went?

  1. Kar says:

    I’m so excited to see what you guys get sewn while you’re out there! Too bad your mom is going to be gone next week – bummer.

I LOVE to hear from you!

