Crafty Meggy

enjoying life while crafting and organizing

Whatever Wednesday

on March 21, 2012

Hey everyone!! I have been working hard on a sewing project the past couple days. I found a bunch of scraps in my moms stash of fabric and they all matched pretty well. I can’t ermember who’s idea it was, either mine or my sisters, maybe it was mom? Anyway, one of us thought the scraps would make a cute Christmas tree lap quilt. They were mostly all green with some red. I found enough of them and made it into a tree shape:

Here’s what I came up with first.

My sister found some white fabric with stars on them so I cut that up to make up the sides of the quilt. I was wanting to make the whole thing 20 in x 20 in. I’m not very good at cutting straight, even with a ruler, so it turned out to be all different lengths.

I pinned the edges face together, one strip at a time and then sewed them a quarter inch or less from the edge.

Here’s the front of it before it was all the way finished.

And here it is all sewn together and ironed.

Today I cut the backing out from a pretty red print fabric. I had to sew together 3 pieces of batting for the middle and then I pinned them all together. I wanted to do the quilting, but I need my mom’s opinion on how to quilt it so I’ll wait to see what she thinks I should do. I was thinking lines going down the opposite direction of the pieces or the same direction. My sister, Rachelle suggested doing diagonal lines, but since I’m not a straight sewer they would look funky because my pieces aren’t all sewn the same size. UGH!! I’m a beginner, I need to cut myself some slack!

So, it’s not finished yet, but I hope I’ll be able to quilt it tonight and then bind it and finish it up tomorrow. We’ll see how that goes:)

Here’s a list of the rest of the projects I want to finish in the next 6 days before we leave (Has it already been 3 weeks??!! I can’t believe we’re leaving next week. I’m sad!):

1. Malaya’s Dress & shirt Check!

2. Tree quilt Check!

3. Monkey bib Check!

4. My quilt

5. Flowers (for headbands and clips) All I need to do for these is glue them onto some matching fabric or felt!:)

So, if I finish the tree quilt tomorrow and start on the Monkey bib that night I think I can knock that out by Saturday and start on my quilt. I’m really excited about my quilt!! I’m going to use a jelly roll that my mom has already and cut out some extra strips from her scraps and do kind of the same thing as I am with this tree quilt, just bigger. I’m excited about it!! I LOVE the colors and fabric I’ve picked out!!

What have you been working on lately??!! Share with us so we can admire it:)

Linking up here: Polly Want a Crafter, Skip to my Lou, Ask Anna, Destination Craft, It’s Overflowing, Fine Craft Guild, A Bowl Full of Lemons, Tip Junkie, Not Just a House WifeTales of a Trophy Wife, Chatty Chicks, Rae gun Ramblings, Southern Lovely, Carolyn’s Homework, Someday Crafts, Mom on Time out, School House Scraps, Made in a Day, Delightful Order, Today’s Creative Blog, Center of attention, Tatortots and Jello, Serenity Now, Family Ever After, The Not So Functional Housewife, Petals to Picots, i heart naptime, Remodelaholics, Chic on a Shoestring Decorating, Randee’s Organized Chaos, The 36th Avenue, My 1929 charmer, Our Delightful Home, The winthrop chronicles

9 responses to “Whatever Wednesday

  1. Kar says:

    That is so cute, Megs! I’m amazed at people who can quilt. I admire your ambition. 🙂 I cannot believe how the time has flown by this month! We’re excited to have you back soon!

  2. mcvick says:

    this is absolutely adorable, thanks for sharing it on my center of attention sunday link up!

    i so admire people who have the patience for quilting; i’m such an instant gratification type person – lol

  3. Tara says:

    Great stash buster project!

  4. mcvick says:

    hi megan, just wanted to let you know this is a feature on center of attention sunday! stop by and share more of your stuff this week at http://cadeedee.blogspot.com/2012/03/center-of-attention-sunday-sunday.html

  5. Super cute! Thanks for stopping by to link up for Functional Friday!

  6. That is darling! I’m pinning for next xmas … I can’t make a whole quilt, but perhaps a pillow or two inspired by your idea!

    🙂

    Linda

  7. Chatty Chics says:

    Wow! I’ve quilted before and can appreciate all the hard work! It’s so time consuming! It looks fabulous!
    Melody
    One Chatty Chic

  8. Trish @ Mom On Timeout says:

    This turned out beautifully! Thanks so much for sharing at Mom On Timeout!

  9. […] I am so excited to announce that I was featured on Center of Attention Deficit Disorder, the blog!! YAY!! I just barely found her blog and linked up my Christmas tree wall hanging quilt and I got an email the next day saying she picked me to be a feature! My first feature!! I’m totally excited!! You can view my post here […]

I LOVE to hear from you!

