Crafty Meggy

enjoying life while crafting and organizing

Let’s Get Organized ~ 2013 To-Do List

on December 31, 2012

I know I said I wouldn’t be back until Jan 8th, but I was so excited about this post I wrote it up last week and scheduled it to go up today. I hope you will enjoy it!:)

First I’m going to go over what my “To-Do List” was last year, then I’ll highlight and explain the ones I’m doing this year and how I’m going to keep up with them:)

Here was my list for last year. You can view that post here.

To-Do List for 2012:

1. Organize our House ~ I am SOOO excited that I can say I did this one!! It’s still not completely organized, but it’s so much better!!:)

2. Read the Scriptures ~ I started out strong on this, but once summer hit it got really hard. Also, I did a lot of traveling this year which made it hard to keep up on too. I did do a lot better with reading my scriptures this year.

3. Attend the Temple ~ Again, another one I started out strong with. I had friends and family that were willing and able to help me with babysitting Tinian so I could go to the temple. It was very nice. I really want to get back into doing this again!! Anyone want to trade babysitting once a month for temple sessions?

4. Exercise ~ I kept up with this off and on. When the kids are in school it’s a lot easier, but this winter I’ve been bad about it.

5. Spend more Time with my Kids ~ We did a lot of traveling, just me and the kids, so yes, this one was achieved in that respect. That’s not exactly what I meant when I wrote it up though so this one is still a work in progress!!

It was short and simple and all of them I did do. I didn’t do them ALL year long, but I am proud of myself for at least doing them some of the time! I would love it if you shared with me a list of what you accomplished this year!

Now, for my 2013 To-Do List:

1. Continue organizing our home ~ I’m not exactly sure if I’m going to keep doing the same thing I did in 2012 with my organizing planning, but I want to keep it up so I’ll figure that out in the first month.

2. Read the Book of Mormon all the way through ~ I don’t know about you, but I have started reading the BOM soooo many times! I practically have the first chapters of Nephi memorized! LOL I’ve also tried starting to read in Alma and I’m not as fluent in the first few chapters, but I know them better than other parts. I need to come up with a plan to read every day and to stick to it so that I can actually finish the whole book. I hope to finish it before the end of the year, but I’m a procrastinator so I’m going to set up a plan and see what I can accomplish.

3. Pray daily ~ I’m bad at praying. I used to be really good about it, but it’s one of the things that has fallen to the wayside, sadly. The biggest reason is that I don’t kneel down to pray, I lay in bed and often I fall asleep during my prayer. SO I’m going to start kneeling to pray every morning and night.

4. Attend the temple ~ This is an important part of my life so I want to start going once a month again. I would love to trade babysitting with anyone else who would also like to go! Mark has also said that I can go on a Saturday and he’ll stay with the kids. Yay!

5. Exercise 3 times a week ~ I want to lose weight, but I have so many other things on my plate right now that I just need to make exercising a part of my life so that when I can actually dedicate myself to losing weight it will be easier. I want to work out at least 3 times a week, whether it’s at home or at a gym or Zumba class.

6. Spend time playing with kids ~ I spend a lot of time on the computuer, blogging, on facebook or pinterest or other craft blogs, etc. I need to spend more time with my kids so they know I love them and also so they don’t become couch potatoes. Oh, wait, they already are! *SIGH* SO another part of this goal is that I want to come up with a media plan for them so they only have a certain number of hours a day to watch TV or play video games or be on the computer. We are going to also have 2 days a week where we’re “unplugged” as a family. That means no TV, no computer, no phones, no games, nothing that needs to be plugged in! We’ll spend the time together playing board games, reading, or whatever.

7. Eat out less ~Eating out has become a crutch in our lives. It’s bad! Sometimes we’ll eat out at least twice a week. It makes my life easier because I don’t have to do the dishes afterward, BUT it’s taking a toll on our bank account! So, we decided at the beginning of December to not eat out as much. This month we’ve only eaten out twice! That’s a huge change for us! And it has been helping a lot! My goal for the new year is only once a month.

8. Read 1 book each month ~ I LOVE to read! Since I’ve been married I’ve been busy with other things in my life; kids, work, crafts, etc. and I forgot how much I love to read! I’ve recently I’ve rediscovered my love and have been reading more. It’s been a lot of fun! I want it to be a monthly thing if not more.

9. Eat healthier ~ Mark and I have been talking about doing this for a LONG time. We need to stop talking about it and just DO IT!! ๐Ÿ™‚

10. A monthly date with my husband ~ My mom and step dad always made it an important part of their marriage to go on a weekly date. I have always wanted to do this, but right now we can’t really afford a weekly date so my goal is to go on a monthly date. It’s important to have that time together.

11. Become more prepared i.e. update 72 hour kits, food storage, make a fire escape plan, etc ~ I have gone through phases where I will be obsessed with preparedness and other times it will be the furthest thing from my mind. My goal is to update the 72 hour kits and keep them updated every 6 months. I’ve heard that people go through their kits every time there’s a General Conference and have the kids eat the snacks and then restock them. the boys are always growing and I want to make sure they have the right size clothes in case of an emergency. Also, I usually keep the backpacks in our coat closet, but I’m thinking I want to move them to the garage onto one of the shelves Mark recently purchased when I cleaned it up a few months ago. I have some extra room out there so it would be perfect! I also need to start storing water again. Walmart has some great water storage containers for cheap. I’ll look into storing water and keeping it in the garage too.

Food storage is always an ongoing thing and I want to keep it up. I used to be really good about buying extra cans, etc when I was the one doing the shopping and then keeping one for the meal planned for the week and one for food storage, but that has been hard in the last 2 years. Mark is doing all the grocery shopping now and he doesn’t like to buy more than we need for the week. I understand that we don’t always have extra money to buy extra food and cans each week, but if we buy at least 1 extra thing each week we can start building up our food storage again. I remember when we moved from our apartment to our first house and one of the guys helping us pack up our food storage said he was jealous of it! I was surprised because I really didn’t think it was that great of a stock, but to him it was. I guess all that matters is that you have something to last in hard times.

I was reading in a parenting magazine recently about how most families don’t have a plan for a fire escape if one to were be needed. I remember when I was a teenager we always had a plan in every new house we lived in (my step dad was in the air force so we moved a lot). We always had a plan and we knew it well. Luckily, we never had to use it, but I think it made me feel more safe and prepared. With little kids and spending most of our time in the basement I would really like to be more prepared for a fire or other disaster.

12. Make birthday and Thank you cards and send them out every month!

13. Be Honest ~ I’ve realized that I tell a lot of white lies to my kids and have even started telling them to my husband to cover up mistakes. I hate it! So, I’m going to stop that and be honest with them! It’s hard with my kids because you don’t always want them to know the whole truth, you know what I mean? Sometimes, they’re just too young to understand some things, but, I know it’s important to be honest in everything I do.

14. Serve more ~ I haven’t been very good about doing my visiting teaching or being very neighborly to my neighbors. I would like to beomce more friendly and serve other people more. I know it’s my responsibility to serve in my home right now, but I also feel it’s important to help out other people when and where I can. I haven’t been visiting teaching my ladies lately because they changed the requirements, but I still think it’s important to make home visits. Also, I was really busy with doing my own stuff during Christmas that I never took gifts to our neighbors. I feel horrible about that! I wanted to make banana bread, but my mixer broke… so yeah, it was a little hard to make anything:) Anyway, what are ways that you connect with your neighbors. There are some that I know better than others and I feel bad that I haven’t tried to get to know them all.

15. Write something I’m thankful for Every Day! Also known as a Gratitude journal:)ย ~ Most of you don’t know this, but I have anger issues. I have a hard time being happy and staying calm with how crazy life is all the time. I’m hoping that having a gratitude journal will help me look at the positives in every day life and be more happy.

16. Become more organized with home schedules, chores and discipline ~ We are very bad NEED of this!! My kids are out of control, my husband and I have no control and we ALL need to get it together so we don’t drive each other crazy!! I have a hard time enjoying time with my kids because they don’t like to listen. Even when we’re doing fun things together as a family everything seems to be a fight with them. They need more structure in the home because they don’t have ANY problems at school. *SIGH*

I am going to be working on new chore charts and discipline methods in the coming weeks. There are so many ideas out there on how to accomplish these things at home that sometimes I feel overwhelmed on what to do. SO, the first few weeks of organizing in January will be on figuring out and fine tuning our home schedule and chores. I am excited to get started on this adventure and make sure my kids become more responsible and not such slobs! ๐Ÿ™‚

~~

It’s a long list this year, but I am hopeful I can stay on top of it all. These things are all important to me so I will continue to refer back to them throughout the year to make sure I’m staying on track.

What are you New Years Resolutions or Goals for the 2013 year? If you have a post on your blog about it link to it in the comments so we can take a look at yours!

Hope you all have a wonderful day! Enjoy celebrating the new year! Thanks for stopping by!

5 responses to “Let’s Get Organized ~ 2013 To-Do List

  1. Kaylee says:

    Derek and I talked about our 2013 goals last night and we have some of the same ones. Maybe i’ll post them on my blog too!

  2. Kaylee says:

    Oh and good luck with your goals!! You can do it!!

  3. Rachelle says:

    Awesome goals Meg!

  4. Kar says:

    You’re so great. (I don’t make New Year’s Resolutions. Because when I don’t keep them, I get depressed. So I’m guarding myself against depression, really. That’s a good New Year’s Resolution in and of itself, right? “Guard myself against depression.”)

  5. amanda says:

    for #7, you might wanna try just using paper plates every once in a while. You’ll get a break, without the cost of eating out. just a thought ๐Ÿ™‚ One of my friend’s moms used to do that. She had lots of kids, so she went completely to paper for a few years I think.

I LOVE to hear from you!

