Crafty Meggy

enjoying life while crafting and organizing

Let’s Get Organized!

on January 14, 2013

I did it! I found a website that I want to follow along with this year in her organizing efforts and I’m SO excited about it! I was thinking about what I wanted to do with my organizing this year all week long last week and I’m so glad I found her website! Go check it out! She blogs over at Clean & Scentsible and I really enjoy her blog. I posted about her organizing challenge in my post last week and I spent Friday studying up about it. I made the decision that I like the idea of devoting each month to one room and making goals of what I want to accomplish in the room over the whole month. I was thinking I might want to do a monthly cleaning room before I found her challenge and then when I read about it on her blog it just made so much sense!

So, here we are today on the first day of my new monthly organizing challenge. You can follow along with me or you can make up your own order to organize your home in. I’ll be sharing with you weekly or daily, depending on my mood, on how I’m doing and what I’m doing. Each month I’ll post the new room and the goals for that room. For this month I’m going to start with the Kitchen, just like Jenn.

There are a few post Jenn wrote up before she officially started the challenge on January 7th. Here they are in order:

The Household Organization Diet

The Household Organization Diet – Creating a Binder

The Household Organization Diet – Cleaning up our Cleaning Supplies

This week I will be working on these two pre-challenge projects. I already have a household binder, but mine isn’t used for cleaning really so I think I’ll make up a new binder for this to keep track of my monthly goals. Or I might just add it to my To-Do folder that I keep in the kitchen.

20130114-134101.jpg

My to-do list folder.

20130114-134018.jpg

And this is the area I keep all my household info in in the kitchen. This little area is very messy right now! I need to have a goal/chore once a week to empty the receipts folder because otherwise, I don’t do it for months and it turns out like this! LOL (It’s the green one overflowing with papers, if you couldn’t tell :)!!)

I haven’t been very good about using any of the folders except the to-do one and I sometimes put mail and things I don’t know what to do with in the mail folder. I keep Jonas’ spelling words in his folder and grades and stuff in there too, but that’s about all. I don’t touch it much.

20130114-134036.jpg

I had the idea just now to add a monthly folder to the folder holder instead of using a binder. That might work better for me. I don’t actually pull out my homemaking binder very much as it is so adding a new binder to the mix probably wouldn’t work.

I don’t have a cleaning bucket for my supplies, but I do have a spot upstairs and downstairs for my cleaners. I might twist things up a bit with this and make them more organized. I’m kind of a lazy cleaner so I keep 2 sets of cleaners in my house at all times. I have some in the laundry room to use downstairs and then some upstairs to use in the kitchen, bathroom and rooms up their. This way I don’t always have to walk upstairs to get the cleaners if I’m already downstairs. This isn’t the most efficient or inexpensive way to do this so I will probably change this up a bit. I like the idea of having everything in a bucket in one place. I also like that she uses household products for cleaning. Vinegar and water, so simple and cheap! I’ll look into this too:)

Here is my list of what I would like to accomplish in the next 2 & 1/2 weeks in the kitchen:

January To Do List-001

Jenn made up this printable and she has it on her blog to download for free so go grab it if you like it. She has it just like this or a blank version so you can write up the goals and things you want to accomplish if they aren’t the same. I like her list so I’m sticking with it.

The first official post for the challenge was under the kitchen sink. I will be tackling that challenge today. I plan on cleaning it all out, putting down contact paper that I still have left over from all the many shelves I’ve covered in the last year and possibly getting some cute organizing bins and drawers. I like the meshy one she has with her sponges in. I’ve been wanting to get one for my sponges so I might have to head to Bed, Bath and Beyond to see what they have.

This week I also plan on starting to clean out the kitchen cabinets. Jenn is also starting on this task. When I cleaned my kitchen last year I only cleaned out a few of the cabinets. I didn’t do the ones with all the dishes and plates and glasses because I just wasn’t that enthused about moving everything out to clean. I am going to do it shelf by shelf each day I think. That way I won’t have too much to get done in one day and I won’t feel overwhelmed! So, here’s my plan for this week:

Monday ~ Clean out and organize under the kitchen sink

Tuesday ~ Clean and organize 2 shelves with plates and cups

Wednesday ~ Clean and organize shelves with glasses and mugs

Thursday ~ Clean out and organize skinny cabinet with seasonings and sprays & clean out spice cabinet.

Friday ~ Clean out shelves with the rest of the glasses and glass bowls, etc.

If I get tired of all the cabinet cleaning and organizing I might switch it up and do something else. Jenn worked on cleaning the microwave and garburator(I had no idea the garbage disposal was called that!! LOL Did you?). That’s not a bad idea!

Well, thanks for stopping by! I’m excited to get started on organizing in this new year and I need to get my butt in gear! I’ve been slacking off for the last 2 weeks so let get ORGANIZED!!:) Hope you have a great week!

3 responses to “Let’s Get Organized!

  1. Kaylee says:

    I just looked at her blog the other day and I like it too! Maybe I should do something like this too.

  2. Kar says:

    I just keep getting so distracted by how pretty the print is on that folder – the one with the flowers on it. 🙂 I’m so ADD. Which is why I don’t join cleaning challenges. It’s an invitation for failure! Haha! I admire you so much, Megs. You get so much done every day. It’s awesome.

  3. Thats a big list to do! I have been organizing like mad too! It must be something about taking down the decorations that gets me inspired to organize. Thanks for linking to my party!
    DeDe@DesignedDecor

I LOVE to hear from you!

