Crafty Meggy

enjoying life while crafting and organizing

Watcha Craftin’ ~ Girlfriend Clutch

on January 17, 2013

I know I promised I would have this post up yesterday, but it just didn’t happen! 😛 Sorry!

I decided 2 Christmases ago that I wanted to start making presents for family, but since we aren’t rich and can’t buy presents for everyone each year I would pick a different family member on each side of our family. My brother and sisters and I already do a “Secret” Santa gift exchange. I say it with quotes because it’s not really secret. We all know who has who. Speaking of which, Kay, can you send out the list for this year? I really want to get a head start so I can make something!! 🙂

Anyway, this year I also wanted to include my Aunt and Uncles family as well as Mark’s sisters family. I have yet to finish Mark’s sisters’ husbands present!! UGH!! But I’m getting there.

I was able to finish all of my cousins presents and I want to share one of them with you today. Back at the beginning of December Sew Can She featured the Girlfriend Clutch on their website. I immediately fell in love with it and it seemed really easy and simple. I decided to make it for my cousin Hannah who is 14.

IMG_8100

I bought the main flowery fabric at Hobby Lobby when I was in Las Vegas last year in August. Isn’t it just adorable??!! I’ve been wondering what to use it for and I’m so excited that I found something finally!!:)

IMG_8103

The yellow fabric was a scrap I got from my mom’s stash when I was visiting her in March last year and the blue/green striped fabric was from a jelly roll that I also got from Mom.

IMG_8158

Here I am sewing it all together.

IMG_8159

I turned it right side out and sewed it together.

IMG_8160

IMG_8161

And here’s the finished project!! I LOVE it!! The handle was a little bigger than I had planned on it being. I think I cut it too big. I had so much fun making this! I was nervous about sewing on the zipper because a lot of people say that zippers are hard, but it was actually really easy!! I have a special sewing foot for sewing on the zipper so I just had to attach that and it worked out great!

What do you think? I know I’m going to make more of these. I already have the fabric cut out and ready to go. I just haven’t had time to get it sewn up. Maybe after my birthday:)

Well, thanks for stopping by, even if I’m a day late! Hope you’re enjoying your Thursday!

5 responses to “Watcha Craftin’ ~ Girlfriend Clutch

  1. Kar says:

    This turned out so cute!! You are so thoughtful to make homemade gifts for your family members. I think that is really awesome.

  2. Irina says:

    so cute… i have a girlfriend who would loooove one.

  3. Rachelle says:

    Look at you! Next thing you know your projects will be sold on QVC! Love it.

  4. lovelymrsp says:

    Very cute~ I envy all the sewers out there~ I hung up my sewing machine a long time ago!
    Thanks for linking up!
    Kim

I LOVE to hear from you!

