Crafty Meggy

enjoying life while crafting and organizing

30 Sewing Projects Before 30

on February 17, 2013

I’m still trying hard to figure out what projects I really want to do. Right now I’m thinking I’m going to scrap the teacher apron idea. I’m searching on pinterest for other cute teacher gifts to sew together instead. Not that the aprons aren’t cute or easy, but I’m just not feeling the apron. Also, I’m on a limited budget. I’m not going to be buying any fabric or crafting stuff any time soon because I’m saving up to go on a nice trip with the hubs and some friends next year! (I’m excited, but sad at the same time!)

So, anyway, I am stuck with using what I have. No more running out to Jo-Ann’s and buying whatever my heart desires, not that I did that before, but it feels like I did because now I’m not buying anything! LOL

I’m stuck. There are so many things that I want to do and make all at once that I feel like I can’t really make any headway. It’s frustrating. Also, some projects take longer than you think and that is really frustrating.

Today I’m working on some super hero capes for my boys. I’m participating in a fun little challenge over at Melly Sews called Sew in Tune. The song I chose was ‘My Hero’ by the Foo Fighters.

I have a pin on my sewing board for a tutorial on making super hero capes and I thought this was the perfect time to make them! The boys have always used rectangular blankets, but they don’t stay tied around their necks very well so this will make life a whole lot easier! I won’t have to tie the same knot 10 times in 30 minutes! ๐Ÿ™‚

I started cutting them out yesterday and Brynnan has NOT let me rest since! I have been busy doing other stuff and every 5 minutes, or less, he comes to me and asks if they’re done! *SIGH* I guess I shouldn’t tell them when I’m sewing stuff for them! LOL

I will be finishing those today and this week I will be fixing up the winter pj’s I made for my 6 year old. I made them a size too small so they fit him for 3 washes, maybe. I had to cut the feet off and throw them out because they were just way too small. Now I’m up to drafting him a longer pair of the pj’s and bigger feet. I’m definitely NOT starting from scratch! I’m just going to add on to the ones he already has done. There’s nothing wrong with them, they were just a little short and the feet too small. He will love them and probably won’t even notice how butchered they are on the bottom:) Once I’m finished with fixing Brynnan’s I will start sewing Jonas’ feeted winter pj’s. I tried talking him into letting me make them without the feet, but he won’t have it. I have the fabric all cut out so I just need to get my sewing game on! ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m thinking I probably won’t end up sewing anything for the kids’ teachers. I want to make something they will actually use and cherish. I might just stick with the class scrapbook like I’ve done the past 2 years. I really love doing that for them and the teachers always enjoy it:)

So, now I have another new list I want to share with you. I won a giveaway on a blog a couple weeks ago where I got 3 patterns for free from one of my favorite pattern designers, Seamingly Smitten. I picked out 2 patterns for me, which I never do, so I’m excited to try them out! I added them to my list and also the capes for the boys. I took off the doll clothes and shoes. I’ll eventually get to those, but for now I figure I’ll get some other stuff done.

30 Sewing Projects Before I Turn 30:

1. Aviator hat for Jonas

2. Aviator hat for Brynnan

3. Aviator hat for Tinian

4. Bean bag frogs for Jonas

5. Bean bag frogs for Brynnan

6. Bean bag frogs for Lynn

7. Lil Gentleman’s suit

8. Snorlax bean bag chair

9. Bag/purse for me

10. Burp Cloths

11. Batman PJ pants

12. Ruffle Tote Bag

13. Winter PJ’s for Jonas

14. Winter pj’s for Brynnan

15. Sock Monkey

16. Valentine’s Day Sew Along Dress

17. Sun Hat

18. Character PJโ€™s for Jonas

19. 3 Tiered Ruffle Skirt

20. Miss Mod top (from Seamingly Smitten)

21. Ruffles Galore Play & Party Pants

22. Maxi skirt for me

23. Hat from sweater

24. Cardigan from old shirt

25. Hat from sweater with bow

26. Raglan t-shirt

27. Car Trash bag

28. Super Hero Cape Jonas

29. Super Hero Cape Brynnan

30. Yoga pants for me (from Seamingly Smitten)

If we’re being completely honest here, this probably won’t be the last time I edit the list. I’m always on the look out to test new patterns and I hope I can get in on some new ones soon. I recently made a cute Sun Hat for Whimsy Couture Sewing patterns. It is so darling!! I can’t wait to share it with you.

Well, that’s it for now. I’m pretty excited about this new list. There are some easy projects on there and that kind of makes me feel not so stressed out about finishing before my birthday, April 29th. Wish me luck! If you have any tips or tricks please share, or I’d love you to suggest something you’d like to see me sew!

Thanks for stopping by!

 

3 responses to “30 Sewing Projects Before 30

  1. What an inspiration! Can’t wait to see the capes.

  2. Kar says:

    Yeah, Grand Caymannnnnnnnnnnnnn!!!

  3. meganblethen says:

    Thanks Susan! I’m really trying! I can’t wait to show you! ๐Ÿ™‚

I LOVE to hear from you!

