Crafty Meggy

enjoying life while crafting and organizing

Tutorial Tuesday ~ Decorated Teacher Notepad

on May 7, 2013

I am excited to be showing you this tutorial today!! Did you see the post on Friday, if not, go check it out.

teacher

Well, this is where I show you how to make it yourself. It was EASY!! Even easier if you have a handy cutting machine, like the Silhouette Cameo, but you can do it even if you don’t have one! Are you ready? Here we go:

Supplies needed:

sticky notepad(s) (with or without a cover on it)

scrapbook paper

Kraft Cardstock paper (for the cover)

chipboard pieces

Vinyl

mini pen (optional)

Ok, so I think I mentioned that I bought my sticky notepads with the cover on the at PYP in August last year.

_MG_0140

So, that made making mine a little bit easier. If you can’t find any notepads with a cover on them they are easy enough to make! So, I will start with making the notepad cover.

Step 1 ~ Measure how big your sticky pad is (like I did), OR just read the package. It usually gives you the inches and cm:) I bought a bunch of them at the dollar store in different sizes for this tutorial. The biggest pad was 5×3.

_MG_0143

Step 2 ~ Next you want to cut out you cover. If you want to have a little pen with the notepad you’ll have to leave space for that. You’ll also want to leave some extra room on the sides. This is how my cover looked after I cut it out on the silhouette.

_MG_0145

If you don’t have a Silhouette:

_MG_0171

You can cut out a rectangle. I cut my rectangle to be 8×5.5 for my 5×3 pad to fit.

Step 3 ~ Use something dull to make the middle part for the pen fold together. If you have a bone folder that’s great. I don’t have one so I used my paper cutter and punctured the paper along the line every few centimeters.

_MG_0175

Step 4 ~ Fold the cover where you made the creases for the pen.

_MG_0182

 

Step 5 ~ Once you have the pen area folded then cut out a little spot on the top and bottom for the pen to clip to. I made the cuts on the longer so I could tell the top from the bottom.

_MG_0184

Step 6 ~ Now it’s time for the fun stuff! Grab patterned scrapbook paper and cut it to fit on the front of the cover. Layer and style your cover however you want! Use whatever embellishments you have and just have FUN!! 🙂

_MG_0170

These are a few of the ones I made over the weekend. If you haven’t had your Teacher appreciation week and would like to buy any of these, I have them in my Etsy shop. Head on over there to buy them today! (Click on the image above to go directly to the listing.)

And you’re all DONE!! I TOLD you it was EASY! 🙂

Thanks for stopping by! Next week I’ll have some more teacher appreciation gift ideas for you! Hope you have a great day!

4 responses to “Tutorial Tuesday ~ Decorated Teacher Notepad

  1. sbullinger78 says:

    MEGAN!!!!! YAY!! Thank you so much!!!! You are amazing!! 🙂

  2. Kar says:

    I LOVE MY SILHOUETTE!!! I cannot express how happy I am to have bought that sucker.

I LOVE to hear from you!

