Crafty Meggy

enjoying life while crafting and organizing

Whatcha Craftin’ ~ Silhouette Notepad Covers

on May 8, 2013

If you’ve been following my blog in the last week you know that I’ve shared a teacher appreciation gift idea. Yesterday I shared a tutorial on how to make a cover for the notepads. Today, I’m going to share with you a file I made with the Silhouette Studio program to make my notepad cover. Having the Silhouette makes it a lot easier, but you don’t have to have one to make this gift!

teacher

So, to make the cover for a sticky notepad you will need:

Silhouette Cameo/Portrait

scrapbook paper

kraft cardstock

sticky notepads

Step 1 ~ Download the 5.5×8 file I made in Silhouette Studio HERE and the little tag that goes inside the envelope I have on mine HERE. They’re both Silhouette Studio files so you won’t have to do anything to them.

Step 2 ~Open up the files in Silhouette Studio. Put your kraft paper on your mat and put it in your machine and with the file named ‘notepadteachergift’ click the send to Sihouette button and let it do it’s work. Once it’s done you’re kraft paper will look like this:

_MG_0145

Step 3~ Fold along the dotted lines to make room for the mini pen.

Step 4~ Decorate the front cover to your hearts content!! You can use the Silhouette to get the rounded corners the same and to make sure the measurements add up. I’m really bad at measuring stuff so I just have my Cameo do all that work:)

_MG_0151

Step 5 ~ Now, you’ll want to print and cut the next file you downloaded. Open it up in Silhouette Studio. The file is all ready to be printed and then cut so click on the icon next to the Send to Silhouette button. It looks like a printer with a paper. Click that and it will make your print box pop up. Make sure you have your cardstock in your printer. I used pink, but you can use white or whatever color you want! click the print button and wait for it to print out.

Step 6 ~ Once you’ve printed off your tag put the paper on your mat and load it into your Cameo. Click on the Send to Silhouette button and hit skip the printing option, then hit continue. You’ll want to click ‘Detect automatically’ for the Cameo to detect your registration marks.

Step 7 ~ Once the registration marks are detected, make sure your cut settings are for the right kind of paper. Change your blade setting if you need to and then push Cut!

_MG_0154

Step 8 ~ Stick the tag into the envelope, if you created one like I did. You can buy the one I have from the Silhouette Online Store here.

Step 9 ~ Glue on the sticky notepads that you have and VOILA! You’re done!! 🙂

_MG_0164

Like I said yesterday, I bought a bunch of different sizes and shapes of sticky pads at the dollar store. I was able to split most of the packs up and make multiple pads out of just one bag of sticky pads.

_MG_0165

This one is my favorite. I like having the 4 different colored smallish tags on the left.

If you’re interested in purchasing one of these notepads from me, I have them for sale in my Etsy shop.

Thanks for stopping by today! I hope you’ll come back tomorrow, I have a fun recipe for you, compliments of my wonderful husband! 🙂 Have a great day!

One response to “Whatcha Craftin’ ~ Silhouette Notepad Covers

  1. […] good blogging friend of mine, Amy from One Artsy Mama, wrote up a post about a game she and her husband made up called the “honestly game”. Go on over to her […]

I LOVE to hear from you!

