Crafty Meggy

enjoying life while crafting and organizing

Pinterest Pick Friday ~ Lipstick Heart Decor

on February 1, 2013

pinterestpickbutton2

Welcome to the new series on Crafty Meggy!! I’m so excited about this because I’ve been pinning for over a year now and a lot of the stuff I haven’t ever tried to accomplish. With this series I will do something I’ve pinned every week and post about it on Friday. This week I decided on what I wanted to do and I changed my mind right up until yesterday when I finally had time to sit down and make something.

I saw this pin:

22bc1342bb87483deb9e5482159fa445

Isn’t it CUTE?!! I fell in love the second I saw it! Go an check out the original post here.

So, since I don’t wear lipstick I had to run to Walgreens to buy some for $.99 each. I did find a really OLD thing of bright pink/red in my make up bag. I think it’s at least 12 year old and I wore it maybe once or twice. Lipstick just isn’t my thing. Also, the color was horrible!

_MG_7531

All you need is lipstick, cardstock (or whatever else you want to use), a pencil and a heart shape.

_MG_7532

Lightly trace around the heart shape. I didn’t trace very light, so make sure you do that!

_MG_7538

_MG_7541

I used the old lipstick first and I think I pressed a little too hard and had too much of it out… it kinda broke, but luckily it stuck together to the end.

_MG_7544

My 6 year old came home from school just as I was finishing up. He wanted to draw the last like so I let him. I think that totally made his day!

_MG_7549

_MG_7555

The finished project! I was so happy with how it turned out!

_MG_7567

_MG_7571

_MG_7574

I had a frame I was going to put it in, but I can’t seem to find it anywhere so for now it is residing on an eisel in my living room upstairs. The tile was made by my sister in law for our Christmas present. Isn’t it cute?

_MG_7576

What do you think? I had fun making it and I totally want to make more. Maybe I will as smaller versions and give them out as valentines for the boys. That would be cute… I guess we’ll see what I come up with.

Thanks for stopping by!! I hope you’ll come back next week to see what I have in store for you! If you blog and would like to share with us what you’ve pinned and done in real life I’d love to take a look!! Have great Friday!


9 responses to “Pinterest Pick Friday ~ Lipstick Heart Decor

  1. Aubry says:

    Fun project!!!

  2. Kar says:

    Oh my gosh, that is so CUTE! I love it! And I have some old, hideous lipstick I could use. 🙂 I’m more of a lip gloss kind of gal.

  3. Mom says:

    This is really cute. Does it dry so that it doesn’t smear? Love it.

  4. meganblethen says:

    I’m so glad you think it’s cute! Thanks guys! 🙂 Mom, it takes about 24 hours to fully dry. It was pretty dry after a few hours, but if you’re going to stick it in a frame with glass I would definitely wait 24 hours before framing it.

  5. Rachelle says:

    super cute! If I decorated my house I would probably do this… but I usually dont. 😦

  6. Elizabeth G says:

    awww, cute!! good gift idea for a couple with an anniversary or something. Add there names and date. My kids would totally be into this too!

  7. amy says:

    Glad you entered One Crafty Contest! Good Luck!

  8. Michelle says:

    I love it! Perfect way to use those lipsticks that your not crazy about and turn them into something really fun!

I LOVE to hear from you!