Crafty Meggy

enjoying life while crafting and organizing

Whatcha Craftin’ ~ Riley Blake Chevron Ruffle Tote bag

on April 3, 2013

_MG_9521pinnable

Have you heard of Project Run & Play? It’s a fun blog to follow along with and I’ve been doing that since the beginning of the year. They do contests for seamstresses and if you sew along with them you can win prizes. Well, this week the theme is Riley Black Chevron Fabric and I have been DYING to use some chevron fabric I bought a while ago. I had the PERFECT project to use it on so I got started and this is what I ended up with:

_MG_9523

At the beginning of the year I was participating in a sewing challenge called Learn to Sew over at Crazy Little Projects. This ruffle tote bag was one of the projects she taught us how to do, but I just haven’t had time to do it.

_MG_9527

The chevron fabric I bought on Etsy and it was a scraps bundle so the red chevron fabric was VERY small, the black was maybe a fat quarter. I bought the floral print fabric at Walmart, I don’t usually buy fabric there, the quality isn’t that great, but I was on a budget and it was cheap and it matched the black and red chevron. I LOVE how it looks together!

_MG_9530

I decided to do 4 layers instead of 3 because of the fabric scraps. I thought it would look better and more even…. it kind of worked… Now I just wish I had made the second ruffle strip a little bit longer. Depending on how much it bothers me I might redo that:) You know me, I’m a perfectionist!

_MG_9521

Isn’t it just SO PRETTY??!! I’m happy with how it turned out and I can’t wait to use it! I think this will be my new Sunday bag:)

Thanks for stopping by! Hope you’re having a great week so far!


14 responses to “Whatcha Craftin’ ~ Riley Blake Chevron Ruffle Tote bag

  1. Kar says:

    I was totally just thinking that – “She needs to use that as her church bag!” It’s so cute, Megs! I just got a scrapbook paper packet that has oodles of chevron print on it, and I can’t wait to use it!!!

    • meganblethen says:

      How fun!! I haven’t been able to find chevron scrapbook paper that I’m in love with yet. I bet you’ll make something cute with it! 🙂

  2. Mom says:

    So cute! I am impressed.

  3. I love your bag! I love how you thought outside the box and used ruffles with chevron, rather than keeping it taunt like they usually do! You are awesome!

    If you stop by my website you can use on of my patterns on your next sewing challenge. They are free! And you deserve to win one of these sewing contests!

    hugs x
    Crystelle
    Crystelle Boutique

    • meganblethen says:

      Thanks so much Crystelle!! That so nice of you to say!! I’m very flattered! I will definitely check out your patterns!

  4. I voted for you over at Project Run and Play. Is that OK?

    hugs x
    Crystelle
    Crystelle Boutique

    • meganblethen says:

      Of course it’s ok you voted for me!! Thanks!! I appreciate the support!! 🙂 You’re awesome!

  5. This is sooo awesome! I just love the fabrics~
    xoxo
    Amie @ Pinkapotamus

  6. amy says:

    So cute, Megan!! Love the ruffles and the chevron!

  7. jocieopc says:

    this is fabulous megan! It reminds me a lot of the 31 bags, although much cheaper! 🙂 Thanks so much for linking up!

  8. Cute tote! I love the fabrics, especially the floral fabric.

    Navy Wifey Peters @ Submarine Sunday Link Party
    http://usscrafty.blogspot.com/2013/04/submarine-sunday-26.html

  9. Darling Bag! Love the fabric combo.

  10. […] been so busy I haven’t participated in the sewing along since week two when I made the Riley Blake Chevron Tote Bag. (Oh, I almost forgot to mention, I ran into one of the commenters from that post when I went to […]

I LOVE to hear from you!