Crafty Meggy

enjoying life while crafting and organizing

Whatcha Craftin’ ~ Boys Swim Trunks & Project Yesu Shorts

on May 1, 2013

A few weeks ago one of my favorite designers, Seamingly Smitten, needed testers for her boys’ swim trunks pattern. I was excited she chose me and got to work! My first task was to buy seersucker at Jo-Ann’s. I’ve heard of seersucker, but I’ve never known WHAT it is, or what it looks like. Well, I asked an employee to show me where it was and I finally learned what seersucker is! ๐Ÿ™‚

The pattern was SO easy to work with! It only took me about an hour, maybe a little more, to do all of the cutting and sewing. For me, that’s GOOD! I’m a slow sewer! Here is what I ended up making for my 2 year old:

_MG_9675

_MG_9682

_MG_9683

_MG_9693

My cute little surfer dude! He kept doing this stance because we would say, “Whoa, daddy!” like Pablo on ‘The Backyardigans’ TV show. He would copy us and say “Whoa, daddy!” and pose like this. It was cute.

I’ve been busy sewing shorts, as I’ve told you.

_MG_9988

These are the 5 I’ve finished sewing. I have a few more I’m in the process of sewing right now.

_MG_9989

Tinian, my 2 year old, tried some of them on and modeled for me. Don’t you just LOVE the closed eyes?!! ๐Ÿ™‚ And the fact that I could NOT tear those milk duds out of his hands for even a second to take these pictures!

_MG_9991

_MG_9997

There was a little mishap with these pair of shorts. I was cutting out another pattern and when I was done, I realized I had been cutting these shorts as well! SO, there was a pretty big cut through the bottom 2 inches of these shorts. I decided to just add on 2 inches of a different fabric to see how they would look and I think I actually like these ones the best!

_MG_9999

Are you interested in helping out a good cause? Head on over to Project Yesu’s website and learn more about it! You can make pillowcase dresses for the girls and shorts like these for the boys. I used a couple different patterns. The smaller ones are from Seamingly Smitten’s boys swim trunks pattern and the bigger ones are from CKC’s appliqued shorts pattern, I just didn’t put the applique on.

You can find other free patterns on the internet for making easy shorts. Mallory’s mom sent me a list of some other sites you can find patterns and tutorials at:

Craft Passion
Caila Made – Summer shorts
Dana Made It – Kids shorts
Fish stick Designs – Little boys shorts
My Growing Home – Basic boy shorts
Well, thanks for stopping by! I hope you have a wonderful Wednesday!! ๐Ÿ™‚

3 responses to “Whatcha Craftin’ ~ Boys Swim Trunks & Project Yesu Shorts

  1. Jeanne says:

    Wow, that is such a cool project- so practical and simple! And they turned out so cute! You sure are keeping busy with the sewing! Great job!

  2. How cute are these?! Great job.

  3. amy says:

    I just love that you made shorts for the boys so they aren’t left out…love love love it.

I LOVE to hear from you!